Do you know the seven stages of dementia? 

The progressive stages of dementia can be a little confusing to understand, and the way people experience dementia and how quickly it progresses can depend on the individual. Many health professionals summarise dementia using Dr Resiberg’s system of seven stages, based on the level of cognitive decline, it’s also known as GDS (Global Deterioration Scale) and can be seen as an easier way to understand the illness and how the condition can progress. Pre-dementia stages

Stage 1
No decline or impairment Someone who does not have dementia is classed as Stage 1, they are mentally healthy with no memory loss. 

Stage 2
Very mild decline Normal forgetfulness often associated with age, such as forgetfulness of where objects are left or forgetting names. 

Stage 3
Mild decline Stage 3 can include difficulty concentrating, increased forgetfulness and difficulty finding the right word during conversations. Friends and family may be able to notice cognitive problems and performance and memory tests may be affected . Dementia stages 

Stage 4
Moderate decline Detection of cognitive decline will be apparent, your loved one may have poor short-term memory as well as forgetfulness about their life history, it also includes difficulty concentrating or difficulty with new experiences. They may also experience some denial about their symptoms which can lead to withdrawing from family or friends. 

Stage 5
Moderately severe decline People will begin to need assistance with many day-to-day activities, such as dressing. There will be an inability to remember simple details about themselves, such as their own phone number and may suffer significant confusion, for example knowing the time or where they are. 

Stage 6
Severe decline Loved ones in stage 6 will need constant assistance to carry out daily activities and require frequent professional care. People can be confused or unaware of their surroundings, and struggle to recognize faces and are unable to remember details of personal history. They can also become incontinent and show personality changes such as anxiety or agitation. 

Stage 7
Very Severe Decline (Late Dementia) People in this stage can lose the ability to communicate, they will require assistance with all activities in their day to day living and often lose psychomotor skills, such as the ability to walk. At Boutique care homes, we understand that our residents are individuals and we treat them as such. 

Our outstanding dementia team are available 24/7 to give the best possible care, whatever stage your loved one is at. For more information on finding the right care and support, you can get in touch with our team here.